Why Tui T. Sutherland is a Change Maker

Why Tui T. Sutherland is a Change Maker

Siena Patrick

Class: 7D

Tui T. Sutherland is a role model change maker because she inspires readers to create their own world in their head like she did, and maybe the readers will even write their own book that could change the world somehow one day.

Tui T. Sutherland (pronounced twee) was born on July 31, 1978, the same birthday as Harry Potter. Her parents decided to name her after a very noisy New Zealand bird. She lived in Caracas, Venezuela, and then in Asunción, Paraguay; Miami, Florida; and Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, before moving to New Jersey. That's where Tui started doing theatre. She mostly worked doing backstage stuff like moving props around and closing curtains. She graduated from Williams College in 1998.

She abandoned her theatrical aspirations after college for the far more stable and lucrative career of fiction writing. She wrote over forty books, (there is a list of the books she wrote and helped write below) including Wings of Fire, which is the reason I chose to write about Tui T. Sutherland, because it’s about dragons. She also has written under a bunch of different names, such as Rob Kidd. She wrote a five-book Pirates of the Caribbean spin-off series entitled Legends of the Brethren Court under that name, and as Heather Williams, she wrote Little House on the Prairie spin-offs: Nellie Oleson Meets Laura Ingalls and Almanzo Wilder Goes West. As Erin Hunter, she helped the rest of the Erin Hunter team, and she wrote a Warriors book and a few Survivors books, and as Tamara Summers she wrote a few more books.

She currently lives in Massachusetts with her husband, two children, and her Yoodle Sunshine. (Three quarters poodle and a quarter Yorkie).

Tui T Sutherland makes books for all ages. the moment kids start reading and she makes books from many different sections of genre. The books I like the most she has made (there also her most popular book series) is the Wings of Fire series (there is fifteen so far plus one graphic novel).

I think it's a great book series because it’s about dragons, which is the main reason why I love it. Tui is always working on them and making more, when some authors would just stop after one or three books. The series is a whole entire world she made up that includes the names of the continents, the different tribe names, names for the many different characters and their unique personalities, laws of the different kingdoms, hierarchy and much more.

Her books, and this book especially, inspire readers to make their own stories in their heads and create their own worlds, and maybe even write it down or get it published it one day to inspire more people.





List of books she has written or helped write:

Jewel Sticker Stories:  Stories of the Stars

Thanksgiving is for Giving Thanks! (as Margaret Sutherland, co-written with Margaret Anastas)

Glitter Tattoos:  Monster Party

Glitter Tattoos:  Silly Creepy-Crawlies

Glitter Tattoos:  Glittering Galaxies

Hide and Go Peep!

Kermit’s Mixed-Up Valentines (co-written with Emily Sollinger)

Meet Mo and Ella (part of the First Friends series for early readers)

Fun with Mo and Ella (First Friends series)


Who Was Harry Houdini? (part of a middle-grade biography series, ages 8-12) (2002)

Novels (written as Tui T. Sutherland or T. T. Sutherland)

This Must Be Love (2004)

Avatars trilogy:

Avatars 1:  So This Is How It Ends (2006)

Avatars 2:  Shadow Falling (2007)

Avatars 3:  Kingdom of Twilight (2008)


Pet Trouble series:

Pet Trouble 1:  Runaway Retriever (2009)

Pet Trouble 2:  Loudest Beagle on the Block (2009)

Pet Trouble 3:  Mud-Puddle Poodle (2009)

Pet Trouble 4:  Bulldog Won’t Budge (2009)

Pet Trouble 5:  Oh No, Newf! (2010)

Pet Trouble 6:  Too-Smart Sheltie (2010)

Pet Trouble 7:  Bad to the Bone Boxer (2010)

Pet Trouble 8:  Dachshund Disaster (2010)

Half-Minute Horrors (one story, “Skittering,” in anthology of 30-second stories)

Lucky Dog anthology (story: “The Incredibly Important True Story of Me!”)


Wings of Fire series

Wings of Fire 1: The Dragonet Prophecy (2012)

Wings of Fire 2:  The Lost Heir (2013)

Wings of Fire 3:  The Hidden Kingdom  (2013)

Wings of Fire 4:  The Dark Secret (2014)

Wings of Fire 5:  The Brightest Night (2014)

Wings of Fire 6:  Moon Rising (2015)

Wings of Fire 7:  Winter Turning (2015)

Wings of Fire 8:  Escaping Peril (2016)

Wings of Fire 9:  tk (2016)

Wings of Fire 10:  tk (2017)

The Menagerie trilogy (with Kari Sutherland)

The Menagerie (2013)

The Menagerie 2: Dragon on Trial (2014)

The Menagerie 3: Krakens and Lies (2015)

Spirit Animals

Spirit Animals 5: Against the Tide (2014)

As Tamara Summers

He’s With Me (2007)

Save the Date (2008)

Never Bite a Boy on the First Date (2009)

As Heather Williams

Nellie Oleson Meets Laura Ingalls (2007)

Farmer Boy Goes West (2012)

As Erin Hunter

Warriors Field Guide: Secrets of the Clans  (2007)

Seekers 1: The Quest Begins  (2008)

Seekers 3: Smoke Mountain  (2009)

Seekers 5: Fire in the Sky  (May 2010)

For Disney (as T. T. Sutherland)

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End Junior Novel  (all of these 2007)

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End The Movie Storybook

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End  Force of Will

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End  Saving Jack Sparrow

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End  The Mystic’s Journey

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End  Singapore

A Christmas Carol  The Movie Storybook  (2009)

Disney: Alice in Wonderland Junior Novel (adaptation of Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland movie) (2010)

As Rob Kidd

Legends of the Brethren Court #1:  The Caribbean

Legends of the Brethren Court #2:  Rising in the East

Legends of the Brethren Court #3:  The Turning Tide

Legends of the Brethren Court #4:  Wild Winds

Legends of the Brethren Court #5:  The Day of the Shadow

As Eva Gray

Tomorrow Girls #2:  Run for Cover  (2011)


Damon Albarn

Damon Albarn

Anthony Kennedy: A Supreme Court Judge

Anthony Kennedy: A Supreme Court Judge